It is currently Thu May 28, 2020 8:29 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Buss Duct Safety?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:32 am 

Hello! This is my first post on this blog and I am fairly new to the safety field. Electricity is not an area that I have much knowledge, but I do know it is some dangerous stuff. The problem we have is that our main buss duct and main switch is all category four. We are working on a way to lessen the buss duct but till then we how should our maintenance department going about shutting down either the buss or the main switch. This question came up because the maintenance supervisor said he would rather have his guys disconnect the bus plug to change a fuse (the buss duct will still be live), rather then shutting down the main switch. His reasoning is the buss duct is the lesser of the two evils. Please advise on how to protect the employees.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:03 pm 
Plasma Level

Bus plugs are definitely not the lesser of two evils for two reasons.

1. The bus plug in the designs that I have used does not have a mechanism such as an overhung cam to force the energized contacts apart rapidly (milliseconds). Thus it is most similar in design to the stabs on MCC buckets and draw-out switchgear cells. The type of design that does not result in rapid mechanical interruption has frequent failures. Draw out switchgear for instance is 80% more likely to develop an arc flash than bolted-in equipment with the exact same circuit breakers. While circuit breakers and disconnect switches can and do fail, the failure rates are almost an order of magnitude less than opening and closing "stabs", whether switchgear, MCC buckets, or bus duct. Thus you are drastically increasing the likelihood of an arc flash if you switch from opening and closing contacts that have spring or magnetic separation and closing mechanisms to those that don't have any kind of "rapid" contact separation mechanism.