It is currently Tue Dec 07, 2021 6:05 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: EasyPower Software- How do I correctly model the incomming line for main breakers
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:10 pm 

Hello, I am new to EasyPower and I am wondering how to correctly model the incomming line connected to the main breakers in MCCs and distribution panels for arc flash purposes. Currently, I have the cable (incomming line from substation feeder breakers) connected to a bus (Type: conductor, Material: Copper) upstream and directly connected to the main breaker for a MCC. The main breaker is then directly connected to another bus (Type: MCC, Material: Copper), which is used to represent the MCC. However, I have been getting unexpected values for incident energies with the conduit type bus having a higher incident energy than both the substation and MCC. If I change the conduit type bus to MCC type the unusual incident energy dissapears, but I don't know if this is the correct way. I have also tried altering the feeder breaker, main breaker, and cable data settings, but still no luck. What am I doing wrong or is the incident energy correct for the conduit type bus?

Attached distribution panel example (Same thing that happens with MCCs):
Substation bus is 4.5 cal/cm2
Conduit type bus is 5.0 cal/cm2
Panelboard type bus is 3.8 cal/cm2

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:04 pm 

Different bus types have different Gap between conductors and Distance Exponents. This is as per IEEE 1584 Std -2002. You can find the Gaps and Distance Exponents in the standard library under Arc Flash -> Defaults. The arc flash hazard report will display the arc current and the trip time. All of these factors affect the final result.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:16 am