It is currently Tue Nov 30, 2021 5:44 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: SKM & EasyPower on Apple Mac Pro
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:33 am 
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:00 pm
Posts: 861
Location: Rutland, VT
Hello,

I will be getting a new computer soon and have been using Windows forever. However, I am considering moving to the Apple platform and am looking for peoples experiences using SKM and EasyPower on a Mac. I also have ArcPro but since that is Windows XP I don't believe it will work on a Mac. So I have an old XP machine I can use for that.

Thank you in advance for any replies.

_________________
Barry Donovan, P.E.
www.workplacesafetysolutions.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SKM & EasyPower on Apple Mac Pro
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 37
Location: Utah
Good Morning Barry,

I am using EasyPower on A Mac and have not experienced any operational problems. Neither of these two software packages will run on a Mac you will need to have a virtual machine running Windows, (I find this problem with other engineering software packages as well, I will stay off that soap-box though) I use VMware Fusion. This means you will still need to keep you license of Windows and probably keep it up to date as the software packages try to keep in step with the latest versions/capabilities of Windows. The only challenge I have is I do not have a Windows version of Excel/Word and have not been able to figure out how to export to these on my Mac OS. So again this means having to keep these license as well. Love my Mac and would do not plan on going back to the PC, just wish that software companies wold support ALL platforms (OK off the soap-box). I would not try to steer you away from Mac, just want to be honest with you an a let you know what I have experienced.

Hope this helps!

P.S.
If anyone uses EasyPower on a Mac and knows how to export Excel/Word to the Mac OS through the VM I would Love to know how.

Thanks!
James


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SKM & EasyPower on Apple Mac Pro
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:04 am 
Sparks Level

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:50 pm
Posts: 118
Location: San Antonio, TX
I have been successfully using SKM on my MAC for at least 4 years. I have used both, Parallels and Fusion. Right now I am using fusion.

I never had a problem.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SKM & EasyPower on Apple Mac Pro
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:42 pm 
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:08 am
Posts: 2174
Location: North Carolina
Libreoffice is a good "Office" system that runs on basically everything, even Android tablets. Unlike Microsoft Office, it can even read and write old Microsoft Office file formats correctly as well as Mac formats. The native format is actually an international standard (ODF), unlike the closed/undocumented Microsoft formats. Even better if you don't want to bother with converting back and forth, you can set an option where it will automatically save files back into Microsoft formats instead of the native ODF format.

The "look and feel" is identical to the pre "ribbon" days of Microsoft Office so you don't have to hunt around the menus searching for all the hidden features that get moved around with every major update but also it means that the menu trees are pretty long. Also be forewarned that it comes with its own font libraries which chances are none of your Windows friends have. So you have to install the free fonts for "Times New Roman", "Arial", and similar font names to avoid font compatibility issues, or just turn everything into PDF so it doesn't matter.

Pretty much every part of the system is a superset of Microsoft Office. There are more and better charting options, more conversion options, more formatting functions, more formulas, and so forth. It's just not as "pretty". The only other major stumbling block is that although it does support "BASIC" internally, the object stack is "UNO" rather than COM/DCOM, so automatically it does not support VBA scripts. Microsoft themselves are faced with the same dilemma because they officially deprecated COM/DCOM over 10 years ago but their own flagship product is so tightly bound to it that they would break a lot of software and create huge compatibility issues by trying to switch object stacks. This is also the primary reason that Libreoffice has never moved away from the UNO object stack (in spite of the fact that one and only one software package uses it...Libreoffice). The hurdle to converting to something else is very substantial. This is also why Java has their own object stack, Android has their own, dotNET has their own, CORBA has their own, and Oracle has yet another. At best you can do creative things with wrappers but somewhere down the line it is virtually impossible to change object stacks. Thus all "interoperability" standards go with some kind of text-oriented data format standard such as XML or JSON but despite efforts such as CORBA, sharing binary data structures across platforms has eluded the software world.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
© 2019 Arcflash Forum / Brainfiller, Inc. | P.O. Box 12024 | Scottsdale, AZ 85267 USA | 800-874-8883