It is currently Tue Nov 30, 2021 4:31 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: SKM, ETAP, Easypower, or EDSA?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 4:09 pm 

Hi,

I am a recent graduate and conducting my first AC Arc Flash study :shock: and need advice on which power software to purchase. What I’m most interested in is the ease of use and time saving capabilities. I work for a consulting company where time is really of the essence but I also want to generate quality work. The projects I’ll be dealing with will range between 0.48 kV to 15 kV. Any advice? :D

-Reggie

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: SKM, ETAP, Easypower, or EDSA?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 12:15 pm 
Plasma Level

First off a study involves much more than just the software. There are many decisions that go into the analysis. One item that you need to be concerned with is the quality of the data collection.

If you have not done so, you should:

1. Read IEEE 1584-2002
2. Read NFPA 70E-2015
3. Take a class on arc flash studies (the forum host teaches them)
4. Decide what else you are going to use the software for, for example, Harmonic studies, motor starting, etc.
5. Based on #4, may lead you to eliminate one software
6. Get evaluation copies of the software and try it out.
7. If this is a one time study for your firm, it may be less expensive to sub-contract it as I think the minimum package price is around $10k

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 8:09 pm 
Sparks Level

ReggieBrenden wrote:
Hi,

I am a recent graduate and conducting my first AC Arc Flash study :shock: and need advice on which power software to purchase. What I’m most interested in is the ease of use and time saving capabilities. I work for a consulting company where time is really of the essence but I also want to generate quality work. The projects I’ll be dealing with will range between 0.48 kV to 15 kV. Any advice? :D

-Reggie