It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:08 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Resetting a breaker
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 9
Resetting a breaker inside a machine control panel, which supplies the primary side of a 1 kva 480 vac transformer?

My question is...does the restricted approach rule come in to play

rmonroe


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:51 pm 
Offline
Arc Level

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:35 am
Posts: 439
Location: Wisconsin
Why do you think it should not be considered?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 9
Wouldn"t this fall under 130.6 (J) "Routine Opening and Closing of Circuits" ?

Thanks for your response...

rmonroe


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:02 am 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 110
Location: Yankton SD/ Lead SD
130.6(J) only stipulates that switches, cb's and such that are used to operate under load, be rated for such operations. It does not eliminate or reduce any approach limits.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 9
[ATTACH]119.vB[/ATTACH]

So the answer to my question is...we MUST use our PPE even to reset an active breaker.

[ATTACH]119.vB[/ATTACH]


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:33 pm 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 110
Location: Yankton SD/ Lead SD
Based on the pictures it appears as though you have exposed and potentially energized parts. In this case, yes you would need some level of PPE.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:42 am
Posts: 35
Location: Bowling Green, KY
The only way PPE could be bypassed is for you to put the panel in an "Electrically Safe Work Position" aka shut it off prior to resetting the breaker! If it must be done "live" you would need your FR clothing, class 00 rubber gloves with leather protectors, and depending on the arc flash study, a 4 cal. face shield.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:56 am 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 110
Location: Yankton SD/ Lead SD
ChevsMark wrote:
The only way PPE could be bypassed is for you to put the panel in an "Electrically Safe Work Position" aka shut it off prior to resetting the breaker! If it must be done "live" you would need your FR clothing, class 00 rubber gloves with leather protectors, and depending on the arc flash study, a 4 cal. face shield.


In order to verify the "Electrically Safe WorkingCondition", you will still need to have on your PPE. Once it has been verified, then you can remove your PPE and reset the breaker in normal street clothes.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:23 am 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:05 am
Posts: 252
See also 130.6 (K) Reclosing Circuits After Protective Device Operation.

Overload or fault? Can it be ascertained that it's an overload (so not a problem in the electrical circuit)? Or may it be a fault in the electrical circuit, meaning the potential fault must be investigated first (PPE most probably required).

If it was opened to isolate the transfo, then 130.6 (K) doesn't apply.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:42 pm 
Offline
Arc Level

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 409
Location: Spartanburg, South Carolina
ChevsMark wrote:
The only way PPE could be bypassed is for you to put the panel in an "Electrically Safe Work Position" aka shut it off prior to resetting the breaker! If it must be done "live" you would need your FR clothing, class 00 rubber gloves with leather protectors, and depending on the arc flash study, a 4 cal. face shield.

In fact, according to NFPA 70E 130.1, you have to put it in an electrically safe work condition unless it introduces additional or increased hazard or it is infeasible to do so.

So, to reset the breaker, you have to de-energize the control panel, suit up in your FR gear and gloves, test the circuit to ensure it is de-energized, then reset the breaker and re-energize the panel. If the disconnect to de-energize is not within view, don't forget to apply LOTO procedures.

Sure makes it worthwhile to investigate why the breaker tripped first. If it trips again, you have to start over.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
© 2017 Arcflash Forum / Brainfiller, Inc. | P.O. Box 12024 | Scottsdale, AZ 85267 USA | 800-874-8883