It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:13 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Newbie with a very basic question
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:38 pm 

Found the forum on a google search and looks like a lot of great information that is way over my head. A little background - I am not an electrical engineer, my background is environmental engineering and most of my 25 years has been in environmental, health & safety. I have a really basic question and you can laugh me off the forum, but at what voltage/amperage would an arc flash occur? Here's my deal, my company manages family housing at over 40 military bases in the US. We do everything for the residents but wash their dishes. Some of our maintenance techs think it's no big deal changing a breaker (15 or 20 amp) on a hot panel. Generally, the panels will be 100 amp or 200 amp. I'm pretty sure a violent explosion won't occur, but I would like to scare the crap out of these guys, before one of them gets zapped.

Thanks

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:43 am 
Plasma Level

ralarosa wrote:
Found the forum on a google search and looks like a lot of great information that is way over my head. A little background - I am not an electrical engineer, my background is environmental engineering and most of my 25 years has been in environmental, health & safety.

Welcome to the forum, let's start with your first question.

ralarosa wrote:
I have a really basic question and you can laugh me off the forum, but at what voltage/amperage would an arc flash occur?