It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:12 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Telecommunication Battery Arc Flash Concerns
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:50 pm 

I am an Electrical Engineer working for a large federal power administration doing telecommunications work. We have been struggling with Arc Flash concerns surrounding our nominal 48 volt battery installations. We recently have completed some testing in our test lab using copper plates with a small piece of fuse wire between them and energizing them with a 48 volt battery to see if there is any ability to sustain an arc as or after the fuse wire blows. Our testing showed at this voltage it is virtually impossible to sustain an arc, which is what we (or I) had thought would be the case.

48 volts also does not pose an electrocution hazard so the only issues we have for properly fitting our employees with Personal Protective Equipment is for possible short circuit issues that can create arcing with thermal burn issues or splashing around some molten metal. The only other concern is dealing with the electrolyte which may require the use of acid proof aprons, gloves, and faceshields.

The issue that I'm struggling with currently, however, is the requirement by the NEC as well as the IEEE that the battery rack must be grounded. Telecommunication batteries are normally grounded on the positive side of the battery bank in order to reduce noise in the telecom equipment. This is different then a normal substation control battery (130 VDC in our case) where this battery is left floating. The result for telecommunication batteries is that if you accidentally ground the negative leg of the battery (or any post of any battery in the string), you have applied a dead short on the battery. The substation control battery doesn't have in issue with this unless there is an existing partial or full ground of the battery which can have the same outcome.