It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:01 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Wyomiles says hello and asks some questions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:23 pm 

Hello all, I have been an operator for the past 25, plus ,years. I have worked in many dangerous situations with machines, chemicals , temperatures and pressures that could kill a person in seconds so I am not afraid to do the work. I have worked in underground mining, a phosphate fertilizer plant, Soda ash and bicarb plants, Natural gas fractionation, R&D in coal to liquids and wood to liquids green field sites and most recently for a large electrical company at one of their large coal fired power plants.
I have always done lock out, tag outs, on 480V breakers as part of my operational duties. Until recently I have never had to deal with anything larger than that.
My current employer has assigned the clearing out of 2400V and 4160V breakers to the operators. Which means that the operators rack the breakers in and out. I ,and most other operators here, do not feel comfortable with this work. We have told management this and they say that it has always been done safely,(it hasn't) and that we must do this work .We are afraid that we will lose our jobs if we refuse.