It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:08 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: New to Arc Flash
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:07 pm 

Hello all,

I am completely new to arc flash analysis and fairly new at electrical engineering in general. I was hoping to get a few questions answered, or at least help getting pointed in the right direction. For your information, I am conducting an Arc Flash analysis using ETAP. Here are my questions, I would appreciate any input that you guys have. Thanks a lot!

1. Is "Working Distance" a value that I define? Are there typical values for this? A table maybe?

2. Let's say that I generated an arc flash label using ETAP for a 4160V switchgear. Here is the information listed on the label:

Arc Flash Hazard Boundary
Incident Energy
Working Distance
Shock Hazard Exposure
Insulating Gloves Class
Shock Hazard
Limited Approach Boundary
Restricted Approach Boundary
Prohibited Approach Boundary
Hazard Category

Now, next to "Shock Hazard" is says "when covers removed". Next to "Arc Flash Hazard Boundary" it says "31.5 ft". Does this mean that when the door to the switchgear is open, that to be absolutely safe you have to be at least 31.5 feet away? What if the door is closed? Can you be as close as you want? Are all arc flash studies for open equipment?

3. Are there any typical guidelines for placing labels on equipment? For instance, any requirements for heights and number of labels? Any information on the actual labeling of equipment would be appreciated.

Thanks again for your responses!

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:35 pm 
Sparks Level

Welcome to the forum, apalmer15. The first thing I would suggest is that you browse this forum well initially. The reason for the short answer is that all of your questions have been answered here, or at least pretty thoroughly debated. Once you get totally confused, I expect you will be back with more and different questions.