It is currently Sun May 24, 2020 6:11 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: What are engineers who do the arc flash studies at risk for?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 11:05 pm 

I probably should have asked my employer this before I started my career, but I've been doing arc flash studies for 6 years now for a consulting firm. One of our clients is a large industrial one for which I have been doing all their studies over the past 5 years. I have a P.E. license.

I never really questioned it, and was never really informed, but if an incident were to happen related to arc flash, and somehow it was found after the fact that I had made a mistake in my calculations, what would happen to me?

If I for example used the wrong working distance or entered in an incorrect arc flash category on a label, or something silly which could have been avoided with a better peer review program, could I go to jail? Is that negligence? Can I be sued, or would my employer take the hit?

What if I leave the company and 10 years later, an incident happens in which it is found that I made an erroneous calculation, but the facility failed to replace the label after 5 years? Am I still liable, if after 10 years the incident energy has not changed?

What if the client did the data collection and gave me incorrect information?

I haven't made any mistakes that I know of - I work with some very intelligent engineers and we do our best to get the best data we can and to check our work, but I have never really considered these types of scenarios and am wondering if I should seek another line of work because now I am imagining switching careers and having this come back to bite me when I have a wife/kids. The facility I perform studies for is very safety conscious and we always try to issue results that overprotect the workers, but there's always that off chance that some freak accident happens.

Appreciate the help.. thanks.

Profile Send private message