It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:08 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Ka parameter and Energy En
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:46 am 

Hello, my name is Peter Cadili. I'm an italian electrical engeneering student. I'm preparing my degree thesis about IEEE1584. I study the arc flash hazard. Please, help me for comprise two questions!
One: Why Ka=-0.153 in the open air configuration in the Iarc calc?Why Ka=-0.097 in the box configuration??
The second one: Why the normalaized incident energy is calculated at t=0.2 [sec] and gap between electrodes =610 [mm]?
Thank you at all!!!!And escuse me for my bad english!!!

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:20 am 
Sparks Level

Hello Peter, I notice that you have written to me personally as well as posting 2 threads on this forum without reply. I’ll do my best to address your question on this forum in the hope that more learned forum members will set out to correct me if I get it wrong or add to my reply.
The K factors arise out of the fact that the equations are based upon the least squares method of obtaining the best fit to test data which was obtained in large power laboratories. (The least squares method can be described as a method of fitting data to a formula through regression analysis.) As you can appreciate, predicting electrical arcs is not an exact science particularly at low voltages. The K factors are actually used in the equation for predicting arcing current below 1000 volts and if you are preparing a thesis which is specifically about IEEE 1584 then you will be interested to know that there are imperfections with the formulae. You will do well to read a couple of articles that are linked below.

The first one was referred to me by WDeanN on this forum after I stumbled across one anomaly some time ago where I calculated a higher arcing current than the bolted figure which is impossible in real life but is possible using the equations.