It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:22 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Your Job and How Long
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:57 am 
Sparks Level

We all bring different perspectives to the forum and sometimes it's helpful to know a little bit about this perspective. So I'm kicking off a "What's your Job and How Long Have You Done It thread. You don't have to reveal much, just generalities. But I think it might be useful to understand the perspective everyone brings to the discussions.

Me - I'm an engineer with over 20 years experience in heavy industry dealing primarily with 15KV and below equipment.

Next?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:56 pm 
Sparks Level

I've been Electrical Engineering since 1981, first 8 years as a distribution field engineer for a regional power company, then worked for three different consulting companies (large, medium and small) and for the past 10 years have a small consulting company of my own. The work we do is for industrial (refinery, paper mill and sulphuric acid plants), utility (small town utilities, local PUD) and commercial building (I do not persue this work, because others can do it faster, but we have a few good repeat customers) projects.

It has been quite a ride.

Gary B

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:11 am 
Sparks Level

I've been an electrical engineer since 1988. Got my PE in 1996. Worked in industrial plants for my entire career doing project work (new equipment, retrofits, etc.). Started doing arc flash surveys for my company's 21 facilities 2 years ago. Experience is mainly with 600 volts and less.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 1:07 pm 
Sparks Level

I went into the US Navy and trained as an electrician.
After getting out, instead of going straight to school, I went to work as an electrician. After going through the IBEW Apprenticeship program, I finally made it to college, and got a degree in Electrical Engineering.