It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:07 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: New to Arc Flash Requirements
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:50 am 

I am an Electrical Control Technician and our company will be implementing Ach Flash program. Frequently I will work inside a machine power/control panel, which will have anything from 480VAC 3PH down to 24VDC, online. This is all apart of the troubleshooting process especially when we have our PC connected to the PLC.

How will this new company safety policy have an impact on our ability to maintain the troubleshooting methods that we are using?

I support any safety policy that will safeguard the worker from potential hazardous conditions. At the same time we must have the ability to troubleshooting on live equipment.

Great forum...

rmonroe

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:43 pm 
Arc Level

Welcome to the world of Arc Flash.

Arc Flash regulations only apply to voltages of 50 volts or greater. So if you are working on a 24VDC system, there are no Arc Flash regs.

Arc Flash is all about knowing what PPE to use to prevent injury from shock and burns.

You only need Arc Flash PPE when working on energized equipment. But we all have to troubleshoot while energized. What you will find is that you will need a lot of training to know what to use and when, but once trained, the PPE becomes either no inconvenience or only a minor inconvenience.

So things to try to get implemented if possible:
NFPA70E allows for a 'standing permit' for live work for routine work by trained persons. Have your company document its policy of a standing permit so you don't have to deal with an individual permit everytime you check voltage. Highlite when an individual permit is needed, for example: 1) touching hand or tool to an energized bus greater than 250V; 2) inserting or removing motor buckets; 3) All work greater than 601 volts. I just made these up but you get the idea.