It is currently Sat Aug 08, 2020 3:11 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: arc flash calcs...
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:08 am 

Hi,

I have some questions that I hope someone can help me answer.

1) How do I get the bolted fault current for any particular cb? Is there an equation for this?

2) In the standard IEEE equations for incident energy calcs, is the variable t (which is the arcing time) the same as the clearing time seen on a tcc curve?

This is my first time doing this type of study and am lost in trying to figure these two questions. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:55 pm 
Arc Level

The bolted fault current comes from a fault current study. See IEEE Std-141 Red Book, Electric Power Distribution, for examples.

For fuses, the arcing time is the time from the Total Clearing TCC. If the TCC is average, you have to add a margin. For breakers with separate relays, the breaker interrupting time has to be added to the relay TCC time.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:36 pm 
Sparks Level

Bolted Fault Current

How do I get the bolted fault current for any particular cb? Is there an equation for this?

You will need to get the source impedance data from the utility and start the calcs from there. These will be furnished as sequence components in percent or per unit based on mva and voltage base values.

Please take this as a constructive response. These calcs are serious and errors could involve dangerous or deadly consequences.

Don't know what your background is, but if you don't understand how to find the available fault duty already, you are probably trying to climb a greasy pole. You should use this to talk to the boss so he can get you some help.

Anyone else care to chime in on this?
Alan

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:35 pm 
Plasma Level

acobb wrote:
Anyone else care to chime in on this?
Alan

Ding, ding!