It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 1:19 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Help with PTW 6.5 and arc flash
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:54 pm 

Hi everyone,

I am new member here. I am also a new engineer, fresh out of college, tasked to do arc flash studies for a hydro-plant. I have the all the information I require but I need some help in modeling my system. I am unsure what to model and what to ignore using PTW 6.5 to do my short circuit study and arc flash analysis. Hopefully some one here have can help me out and give me some tips and advice to guide me along. Here are some of my questions:

1. Do I model surge arrestors/capacitors in my model?
2. In the one-line I see "slug transformer fuse," do I just model those the same way I model fuses?
3. In modeling a generator, where do I account for Xd"?
4. I have a three-way transfer switch, with one position being the emergency generator for the system, how do I model this in PTW?
5. I have the tutorial for PTW but was wondering if they have an in-depth user manual?

Those are my questions. Thank you for your help.

Vong

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:18 am 

PTW Training

1. Do I model surge arrestors/capacitors in my model?
No. Not important for arc flash analysis.

2. In the one-line I see "slug transformer fuse," do I just model those the same way I model fuses?
"Slug transformer fuse" must be a local jargon. The word "slug" doesn't appear in the PTW Help file. A Google search only showed your entry on this website.

3. In modeling a generator, where do I account for Xd"?
Under Synchronous Generator, Component Editor, ANSI Contribution subview, X" per unit values for Pos, Neg and Zero sequences can be entered.

4. I have a three-way transfer switch, with one position being the emergency generator for the system, how do I model this in PTW?
Each position of the transfer switch should be modeled as a separate Scenario.