It is currently Sat Aug 08, 2020 4:16 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Arc Fault calculation in Connecticut
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 5:24 am 

I am a electrical contractor from New Haven in a bind. I am installing a new 2500 Amp 120/208 Volt service on a job and the local utility(UI) is requiring me to show them that there will be no more than 10,000 AIC possible at their meters. My engineer and a second engineer I spoke with don't have the software to make the calculations. I am looking for someone licensed in Connecticut to take a look at this and preform this study to satisfy the local utilities requirements. If anyone is interested or know's of a person or company who can help me please let me know. Thanks for your help.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 6:47 am 
Arc Level

Was this also posted on Mike Holt's forum?

What you are asking for is a simple short circuit calculation to determine the amount of available short circuit current at your meter centers. I am surprised your engineers would not be able to do this. Almost every fuse manufacturer offers free software that is conservative enough for selecting AIC of breakers and SCCR of equipment. More robust software packages, like those from Easypower, SKM, and Etap, are be able to handle more complex circuits such as paralleled utility transformers.

Make sure you involve the utilities engineering department in your discussions.
I had a local contractor get into trouble simply because they asked for a service larger than they needed. Job specs called for a 600A 208V meter center series rated for 22kA, as required by the utility. The contractor got a good price on a 800A one, so, as a favor to the customer, he asked the utility to provide a service capable of being upgraded to 800A. The result was that now the utility required the meter center to be rated for 42kA.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 7:34 am