It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 1:41 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Calculating Utility Fault Current without Help from Utility
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:43 pm 

Hello,

I am doing an arc flash study on a site where the utility is unable to give us any fault current or X/R rating.

What I do have, is all the information on the utility transformer, and the fuses connecting my site to the utility. Is there a way to derive "worst case" available fault current and X/R from these values ?

I tried looking on here and other sides, but could not find something similar to what I'm doing. Please be gentle, I am still new at all this! :)

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:08 pm 
Plasma Level

The short circuit current is very important. The X/R ratio only affects the way that impedances are added and in the absence of an X/R (common situation) many assume 12 or 15 for the utility. The X/R is the tangent of the impedance angle so Tan-1 (12) equates to an angle of 85.3 degrees and Tan-1(15) equates to an angle of 86.1 degrees - not much difference. You can assume numbers up to infinity and that will take you all the way to 90 degrees (a few numbers between 15 and infinity :) ) so 12 or 15 is usually fine.

For the short circuit current, the article at the link below might help. You can download it from the linked page. You want to be careful about using an infinite bus calculation with transformer data as you will read in the article. Good Luck!

[url='http://brainfiller.com/news/NewsDetails.aspx?PRId=62&Type=U']Article - Utility Data for Arc Flash Study[/url]

Let me know if you have any more questions.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:20 pm 
Sparks Level

Just have to ask, why can't the utility provide the info!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:25 am