It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:11 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Simple SKM Model Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:17 am 

Okay, I've begun modeling some 25kV switchgear. I am new to doing this kind of arc flash study, so I could use some guidance. I've done them before on the 480V equipment. But this is just a little different to me. I have run the study and the numbers I am getting for the incident energy are a bit scary. I get 117 cal/cm^2 as the result. Seems a bit high, but I don't really know. I want to make sure my methodology is okay.

I have attached a file of the simple one line. It is a utility connected to a transformer, which has a low side breaker protection (via an SEL 351S), which is the 25kV switchgear main. In case anything is unreadable, I will retype the information here:

Utility: 138kV
3PH: 27608A
LG: 18815A
X/R: 6.87

TX: 138-27kV
56MVA
Z= 9.26%
Z+ & Z0= .2901+j9.255

Breaker: Powell
27kV
2000A

Relay: SEL351S
Phas Time Overcurrent Settings:
CTR: 1500/5
Pickup: 4.75
Curve: U1
Time Dial: 2
(No inst or def time settings)

If anyone could take a look at what I am getting and see if I am doing it properly? This just doesn't set well with me. I really would be more comfortable if I had a second set of eyes here.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:52 am 

pazzjl wrote:
Okay, I've begun modeling some 25kV switchgear. I am new to doing this kind of arc flash study, so I could use some guidance. I've done them before on the 480V equipment. But this is just a little different to me. I have run the study and the numbers I am getting for the incident energy are a bit scary. I get 117 cal/cm^2 as the result. Seems a bit high, but I don't really know. I want to make sure my methodology is okay.