It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 1:55 am



Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Transformer Question
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:12 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:45 pm
Posts: 8
When modeling multi-rating transformers using SKM, do you guys stick with the base values or the highest values? For instance, if you have a transformer that has a 30/40/50MVA rating, which would you use in your model?

I've been running them with both sets of data, but I am curious how others see this.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:35 am 
Sparks Level

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:05 am
Posts: 252
pazzjl wrote:
When modeling multi-rating transformers using SKM, do you guys stick with the base values or the highest values? For instance, if you have a transformer that has a 30/40/50MVA rating, which would you use in your model?

I've been running them with both sets of data, but I am curious how others see this.


Use the rating for which you have the impedance. The impedance should change at each rating (different ratings have different secondary FLA, so need different levels of primary voltage in the impedance test).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:04 am 
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:08 am
Posts: 2174
Location: North Carolina
pazzjl wrote:
When modeling multi-rating transformers using SKM, do you guys stick with the base values or the highest values? For instance, if you have a transformer that has a 30/40/50MVA rating, which would you use in your model?

I've been running them with both sets of data, but I am curious how others see this.


Not sure why you'd have different values unless you are reading the values with/without fans. I always put them in as the highest condition that they will operate at. So if you have fans but never or "hardly ever" use them then you might have to have a separate scenario for overload conditions or simply have a policy/procedure to deal with this case and not use it as part of the model.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:07 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:45 pm
Posts: 8
I was indeed refering to the ratings with the open air and forced air ratings. If I understand transformer testing at all, it seems that the values given for impedance are at the base values and not the forced air values.

I was really curious to how you guys approached it.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:06 am 
Sparks Level

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:05 am
Posts: 252
The maximum current the secondary can provide is not a function of fans (which is really what the impedance gives you, the "strength" of the transformer as a source).

Let's me explain with an example.
Transformer: 315 kV to 34.5 kV
%Z: 9.2%
At 30°C ambient:
ONAN: 110 MVA
ONAF: 183 MVA
At 0°C ambient:
ONAN: 137.5 MVA
ONAF: 217.31 MVA

If you model it as something else than 110 MVA (correct for 30°C ambient, ONAN), then you need to adjust the %Z. Else, you change the strength of the transformer.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:53 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:17 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Waggaman - Cornerstone Chemical Company
I fairly certain that the impedance is for the base rating, at the rated taps (if the transformer has primary taps). As VincentB. mentioned, you should use the base rating for SC calculations.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:18 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:44 am
Posts: 22
Location: Atlanta, GA
The nameplate %Z is based on the nominal (base) rating (i.e. no fans and no temperature rise) of the transformer. In your case, the 30 MVA rating is what should be used with the nameplate %Z in order to calculate the impedance of the transformer. The higher ratings relate to transformer heating, not its impedance.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:07 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:00 am
Posts: 2
Hi, I have a system in which i need to model 1000kv automatic voltage regulator using PTW 6.5v. But i dont see any provision for that. How can i do it and if not possible can i ignore the device or what are the implications and how to solve it. Thanks in advance please help.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:49 am 
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:00 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Rutland, VT
Gautham - your question is not germane to the OP's original question and subsequent replies. This should be a new thread in this forum section and I have sent a request to the moderator to re-direct it to a new thread.

_________________
Barry Donovan, P.E.
www.workplacesafetysolutions.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
© 2019 Arcflash Forum / Brainfiller, Inc. | P.O. Box 12024 | Scottsdale, AZ 85267 USA | 800-874-8883