It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 1:03 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Using Etap for arc flash
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:31 am 

Hi,

I am trying to understand the process of doing an arc flash study. Our company is planning to outsource the work and I am asked to at least draft a scope of work document. Have anyone here have a template they can help me get started. I am a control engineer with basic electrical training from my college day, however, most of my experience has been in the controls area. My understanding is that to properly conduct an arc flash study we will need to collect data, short circuit study using utility data and single line model, coordination study and then arc flash. My question is more for information and education. Our company had purchased a copy of Etap but noone had learned to use it. Thus it makes sense for us to have the contractor do the work in Etap so we can maintain the model once the project is completed. I have been trying to use the software building some mock model and work with it. I do have some generic questions:

1. The arc flash module seems to be able to use the results from the model short circuit study and able to pick up the protective device that would trip in case of an incident. If this is the case, (my exp is limited to my small 5 buses model) why is coordination curves have to be studied if the software could flag issues if any?

2. We have a fairly large size system (radial) with at least 35 feeders and buses, if we are to do the full coordination study, do we need to look at the coordination curves for every path from the utility down to every bus to the final end device (motors)? or is there some rule of thumb depending on motor size or load?

3. Is loadflow analysis add any value to arc flash?