It is currently Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:15 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Solving for IE
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:08 am 

I am a Mechanical Engineer conducting an Arc-Flash Study for my plant to become 70e compliant. I am demoing the Easypower system and created a 1-line diagram of one of my systems that is fed from the utility to a transformer and then into a 480V 3000A Switchgear that feeds the rest of the system. I've played around with the numbers manually and in Easypower, but I think I'm more confused by my discrepancies. According to my manual calculations, the closing time is no more than .08 seconds, and after figuring the Incident Energy of the main, the switchgear IE should be 8.2 cal/cm2. Easypower didn't label it and claimed it didn't have any upstream protection. If that is the case how would I label the switchgear, if at all?

Thanks.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: Solving for IE
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:01 pm 
Plasma Level

Hello,

I will be very honest with you and say that you are above your head in this endeavor. One needs to have a good understanding of electrical systems, arc flash studies and the software being used.

You refer to closing time but it should be opening time. Where did the 0.08s come from? Were you using arcing current on a tcc to determine? If you have the software set to ignore Main, then there is no main to trip. Can the main be used as if it is not separated from the bus, then it cannot be used.

You may be setting up employees to be underprotected if you do not have an thorough understanding of the subject matter.

Since you are just demoing the software, you might want to obtain some proposals to do the study. It may be less than you think.

I haven't even begun to tell you about the data collection.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:21 pm 
Sparks Level