It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 4:22 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Arc pro calculation
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:35 pm 

Hello, I am new in Arcpro and need some guiding. I am only using the software to test the possible to simulate the clothing and safe distance when being close to a 130 kV circuit breaker. This is large outdoor breaker. The link shows a picture of a similar breaker:
https://www.google.no/search?q=abb+ltb+circuit+breaker&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwilvsX08PTdAhVFqYsKHameDdAQ_AUIDigB&biw=1536&bih=755#imgrc=PdCjmXgLyF8vHM:
Since the system I am calculating on is 130kV and isolated star point. I figure that the voltage for a Arc then has to be between the phases and not to ground?
Voltage:Unfortunately, the software does not accept 132000V, but if I use 120 000V that is max it doesn’t get all to wrong?
Arc gap:For arc gap I guess I must use the distance between the phases (not to earth?). That would be 130 cm(52 inch). Max in the software is 50 inch. So then I have to use that.
Working distance: The working distance is 240 cm(100 inch).
Arcing current=short circuit current=5kA
Duration: 100ms(6cycles in 60Hz system, this is 50Hz but I guess it would be the same in seconds)
Arc type: Three phase AC open. I think open would be correct for this kind of breaker
Any comments on this setup?
The calculation gives AFB at 54 inch(137cm) and a energy at 0.375 cal/cm2 at working distance.
A excel based calculator based on IEEE1584 gives a value of 5.2 cal/cm2 at working distance and 1.2 cal/cm2 at 5.3m.
The arc pro values seems fairly low, are they realistic? Would the arc in real situation not be between phases but develop to ground also(even in isolated neutral system)?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: Arc pro calculation
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:08 am 
Plasma Level

Hello,

Voltage between phases would be suitable in your situation as this would be a phase to phase fault.