It is currently Mon Aug 03, 2020 9:47 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Complete Single line or broken up
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:27 am 

Hello

I am relatively new to performing arc flash analysis. I've completed multiple studies from substations down to different bus ducts and loads in industrial facilities but not for an entire facilities. I've recently changed jobs and one of the reasons I was hired was to finish an arc flash study that was started in one of our buildings then move onto the others. We have one HV service to the property for all buildings. The previous study was modeled using multiple SLD's (1 for the main, 1 the main switchgear, 1 for each bus duct etc, etc, etc).

I am wondering what is the best practice and purpose of modeling the system as a whole on one SLD vs breaking down into multiple one line diagrams. (Note using SKM)

Thanks

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: Complete Single line or broken up
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:00 pm 
Sparks Level

You can do one model if you bought enough busses with your license and use separate drawings and link them.

Or do them separately but upstream changes will be more cumbersome to handle if they affect the downstream.

Or just make one big model on a single drawing. Your call.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:42 pm 

bbaumer wrote:
You can do one model if you bought enough busses with your license and use separate drawings and link them.

Or do them separately but upstream changes will be more cumbersome to handle if they affect the downstream.

Or just make one big model on a single drawing. Your call.