It is currently Sat Aug 08, 2020 4:18 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: What is the best way to get started?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:05 am 

I am an electrical engineer who works for an OEM who produces industrial machinery. I have been asked to research Arc Flash calculations and what we need to do for NFPA70E compliance for our manufacturing plant. Is there a formal training format that reviews the data necessary to collect on the single line schematic of our plant, what information is essential before beginning calculations, and how to perforrm the calculations correctly?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:30 am 
Sparks Level

From the sound of your question, it would seem you plan on doing the study yourself. First ask yourself if your prior training is up to the task. Like coordination and short circuit studys, it's not just numbers and equations in the end but also some understanding of electrical system design. If you're up to the task, then the collection of data to perform the study is the hardest part of the job, particularly in an older plant. You'll need cable sizes, lengths, breaker settings, relay settings, etc. before you begin the study.

It's good to know how to do the equations by hand and understand what they are doing, but for a system of any size you may want to consider purchasing software. The other advantage of this is once the model of the system is complete in the software, you can use it for relay coordination, short circuit, and many other studies. Each time you make a change to the electrical system, the new study is just a minor revision to the one line in the model.