It is currently Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:32 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Infinite Secondary or Modeled Primay
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 6:25 am 

I am building a model in SKM. Our utility gives us Max Primary Three Phase Fault, Max Primary Single Phase Fault, and Infinite Three Phase Fault Current at Secondary Terminals. they also give me the transformer size and impedance. I know from experience they use oil filled naturally ventilated transformers at the POC.

A few questions to help me understand this stuff:

If I model the transformer and use their primary currents, would this not be more accurate than using the secondary infinite bus?

Is the infinite bus not the worst type of currents to use, i.e. it would produce the lowest IE?

Is there a reason they would give me the calculated primary currents but infinite secondary? Would this not just be the primary currents increased due to the voltage decrease(ohms law)?

I am no engineer so forgive me if these are basic questions.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: Infinite Secondary or Modeled Primay
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 8:20 am 

Recommendations:

Use infinite bus methods to size the equipment from a short circuit current withstand perspective. Don't forget X/R ratios...

Use actual (not max) utility short circuit current availability for arc flash calculations. Infinite bus may or may not be worse case. In many cases that I've seen (from some consultants AF studies), they will use infinite bus and the AFIEs are lower than if they had used actual SCCA from the utility. Big problem...

If the utility won't give you actuals, then you're going to have to do max/min calculations to see where the worse case is and use that.

Mike

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:58 am 

If using SKM I would suggest that using multiple scenarios is your easy solution, so set BASE SCENARIO as the model with the populated network fault level data / impedances and create another scenario for the infinite bus option etc