It is currently Wed May 25, 2022 5:54 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Does anyone know what QMB stands for in a QMB fusible panel?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:52 pm 

I am new to industry and we have QMB panels. I have scoured the internet and asked co-workers, but no one knows what it stands for. Does it even stand for anything?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 8:11 pm 
Sparks Level

Taylor wrote:
I am new to industry and we have QMB panels. I have asked scoured the internet and asked co-workers, but no one knows what it stands for. Does it even stand for anything?

Are they made by Square D? Do you have the info on them? It would be their model name for that particular line up..

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:21 am 

glen1971 wrote:
Are they made by Square D? Do you have the info on them? It would be their model name for that particular line up..

Yes, it is Square D. I guess I'm so used to acronyms in the military I just assumed QMB was an acronym also. Thank you!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 6:47 pm 
Arc Level

Taylor wrote:
Yes, it is Square D. I guess I'm so used to acronyms in the military I just assumed QMB was an acronym also. Thank you!

The Square D fusible product offering was Saflex, which was a manual 'pull-out' style switch. In the 60's they added a spring operated mechanism and called their product line QMB Saflex. By the 80's the name Saflex had been discontinued and their product line since then has simply been called QMB.

There is some marketing literature that refers to QMB as 'quick make and break', but that was not part of the official name, probably due to copyright infringements. The GE fusible product offering was QMQB which they did call Quick Make Quick Break.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:22 am