It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:55 am



Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Feeder Length Approximation
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:26 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Feeder length approximation as part of Arc Flash Data Collection can sometimes be a headache, typically we measure the approximate distance from panel to panel, and then add the distance to the roof/ground and return, to get an approximate length for cables, I mostly use a laser distance measurer which is quite convenient and fairly accurate.

Does anyone do this differently? e.g. contacting cable supplier for feeder schedule etc...


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:47 pm 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 110
Location: Yankton SD/ Lead SD
Sounds as if you have a good method in place. Another option which I have used is AutoCAD.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:56 pm 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:05 am
Posts: 252
If the client can supply a layout of it's plant. Else, it's pretty neat and shiny, but it's a lot of effort for the result.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:25 pm 
Offline
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:00 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Rutland, VT
I think your method is good plus if you can get (not usually unless a new install) cable pull sheets.

The other thing to do is if you are unsure of conductor lengths to input various length to see where the hazard category changes. You may be out to several hundred or even a thousand feet before a change. Voltage drop may become more of an issue then and you can reasonably assume a length but this should be stated in the report.

_________________
Barry Donovan, P.E.
www.workplacesafetysolutions.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:26 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
If to scale AutoCAD drawings are available then all we'd need to do is to use the "Measure Distance"option from panel to panel, quite convenient, and perhaps add the distance to the roof/floor and return

Cable pull sheets are also good if available, thanks for the feedbacks I will keep it in mind


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:51 am 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:02 am
Posts: 136
If the site is new, and labelling is correct and you can get access to both ends, Teck cable has meter marks on the outside. Otherwise sounds like you are definately getting it close.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
© 2017 Arcflash Forum / Brainfiller, Inc. | P.O. Box 12024 | Scottsdale, AZ 85267 USA | 800-874-8883