It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:15 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: First Arc Flash Study, Category #0 Questions
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:05 am 

I am an engineering intern finishing my 4th year of school in EE. My employer is having me do an arc flash study of their manufacturing facility using EasySolv software. I have completed the study on one branch of their switchgear (all 480v 3-phase) and it appears that anything downstream of a 200A fuse is category #0. Do I need to go into further detail since cat #0 is the lowest category? Can I assume this for the other 4 branches of switchgear? As far as labeling these cat #0 locations will a generic label suffice? Thanks for helping a new engineer!

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 8:14 am 
Sparks Level

You might get a few other opinions from some of the others here but IMHO it is probably OK. The only thing I could think of is if there is long run of conductor where the fault current becomes so low that the fuse does not current limit. However, the current would be so low, the arc flash energy would likely also be very low.

The switchgear main might be an issue. If this is fed from a transformer, quite often the next device upstream that would limit the arc flash is the transormer primary which does not always operate as fast (if at all) for secondary faults. This could be a problem at the main that needs evaluated.

I would suggest that you run a few extra test cases to make sure you are comfortable with all the results. Not looking far enough is a common mistake and then problems can surface later as a result.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:43 pm 
Plasma Level

jeppen wrote:
Do I need to go into further detail since cat #0 is the lowest category?