It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:20 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Problematic Arc Flash Study
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:22 am 

Recently, I received results back for an arc flash study that seems not to make sense. Here are two things that I came across that do not make sense to me. I am probably more critical of it because the last one had problems. I am by no means an expert on arc flash calculations.

1. There are RPP’s that are feed by 2 main breakers. There is one that is fed into a side compartment along with a tie breaker that is separate and another that is fed from top of the panel which is in the same cabinet. They have posted 4 stickers, 1 for each break and 1 for the panel. They have varying arc fault calculations, even though you have 2 items in one cabinet.

2. Also, these RPP’s are fed 120/208Volts fed by 225Amp breakers with a tie breaker that can change sources. This is the odd part, I have some that require Cat 0 PPE and some that require Cat 4. This seems odd to me. I know things can change when they conductor length increases and will cause less current for causing the breaking to trip instantaneously. When I spoke to the engineer about it, he told me that was why. Although, it seems really strange you would go from Cat 0 to Cat 5 with an extra 30 feet of wire.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:59 am 

Could you provide a sketch or one line of this? It sounds odd but can't be sure of the details. Also, what is Cat 5? The standard categories go from 0 to 4.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 10:39 am 
Plasma Level

K. Wilson wrote:
Also, what is Cat 5? The standard categories go from 0 to 4.