It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:56 am



Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Circuit Tracers for unknown circuits
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:09 am 
Offline
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:00 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Rutland, VT
Hello,
Many times facilities do not have updated or any one lines of the facilities. In order to identify many circuits, one has to trace the conduit run to the end device starting at the breaker. Has anyone used circuit tracers to accomplish this at the 480V level?
Thanks

_________________
Barry Donovan, P.E.
www.workplacesafetysolutions.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:47 pm 
Offline
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 5:00 pm
Posts: 1245
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
I took wbd's question and made it the "Question of the Week". You can see what other's think and cast your vote at:
[url='http://arcflashforum.brainfiller.com/threads/2635/#post-12582'][CIRCUIT TRACER THREAD][/url]

_________________
Jim Phillips, P.E.
Brainfiller.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 12:12 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Tennessee
WBD,

I have used the Amprobe Advanced Tracer kit (AT-2005) for years. We use it for 120V up to 480V. There is an "ART" to using this tracer. The user must get a "feel" for sensitivity settings. I would not hand it to someone who has never used it and trust the results. Once an operator becomes familiar though, it is very reliable. It will trace deeply buried cables, breakers and individual wires and will work on energized circuits from 9 to 600 volts AC/DC. It can also be used on de-energized circuits.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:04 am 
Offline
Sparks Level

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:50 pm
Posts: 89
Location: San Antonio, TX
A word of caution. During a survey, you may find many circuit (especially lower ampere rated circuits) that are very difficult to locate. I started using the Amprobe Advanced Tracer. It works OK after a lot of experience. But it took a lot of time to connect and trace. Also, it added risk due to the connections to live equipment. Now, I specify in my quote that if I can't locate a circuit in 30 minutes, I report it as Untraceable and move on to the next circuit. If I keep investing time in locating these difficult circuits, my survey time will escalate to a prohibitive cost.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:14 am 
Offline
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:00 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Rutland, VT
Thank you. I will be trying an Ideal Circuit Tracer #61-957 over the next couple of weeks. We will usually specify in the proposal that a person familiar with the electrical system is available to locate panels. That approach has been hit and miss.

_________________
Barry Donovan, P.E.
www.workplacesafetysolutions.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
© 2017 Arcflash Forum / Brainfiller, Inc. | P.O. Box 12024 | Scottsdale, AZ 85267 USA | 800-874-8883