Multiple sources feeding in bus
Take the one operating slowest
Accumalate energy
You may select up to 2 options

View results
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Multiple sources feeding a bus
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:49 am 

I am an engineer doing an arc flash study using IEEE-1584 calculator (manual/excel based). I have come across a problem. Looking for assistance/clarification on my doubt.

Let us assume, there are multiple sources feeding a bus (Generator, Motor and Utility) hence also will contribute differently to the bus bolted fault level. On the occurence of an fault at this bus the individual breakers would trip the 3 sources independently depending upon the fault current seen by individual relays and the consequent breaker trip+operating time (depending upon each relay setting). For such a case how one should calculate the net incident energy at the operating personnel body in order to calculate the hazard category?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 6:29 pm 
Arc Level

Not sure if I follow your layout exactly, but, the way I do this is

1) Assume maximum fault current from all sources that would be contributing, then look up clearing time. Calculate IE.

2) Assume lowest possible fault current from whichever source has the lowest fault current, assume no motors running at time of fault, then look up clearing time. Calculate IE.

Use whichever value of IE is highest.

Generators are often a particular problem has they have high impedence and low fault current values. Big problem with molded case, less of a problem with electronic trip.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:08 pm 
Arc Level

You have to calculate each time period separately, then add the incident energies. Each time period being each length of time with a different arc current. The first would be with all sources. The next would be after the first source OCPD tripped.