It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:56 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: in the box out of the box criteria
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:45 am 

I work in the Generation sector, we had a study performed by a contractor. On our UAT (unit aux transformer) switch gear (13.8Kv/6.9Kv) the study calculated the incident energy somewhere in the nieghborhood of 100 cal because the transformer is fed directly off our generator. They would not consider the Main breaker for the line up as a point of protection because it was "in the box".
This presents a problem with operations (racking in/out) because we don't have remote capabilities and mitigation is also long term. If the Mains were considered "out of the box" my numbers would drop down to the 35 cal range, operations would not suffer. The cubicles are side by side but seperated by steel panels, is this truely "in the box"?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:36 pm 
Plasma Level

Could you post a one line of this situation? It would probably help but I am thinking that the UAT transformer primary is connected directly to the generator terminals and the terminals also feed direct to the GSU??
The breaker you are discussing is the main incoming breaker from the UAT low side terminals?
If this is so, then the next upstream protection is nothing sort of the generator protection shutting it down on something other than overcurrent.

What is the arcing time used? Is the 2 second limit applicable here?

Yes it is a box configuration.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:51 am 

wdb,
Thanks for the reply. Your sumation is correct, including the 2 second limit. I agree with your determination, problem is the company has decided that they are "out of the box". Apparently they have contacted other utilities that have made the same determination, mainly I believe because the "dangerous" incident energy levels restrict everday tasks such as racking breakers.