It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:16 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: What's missing in electrical safety news?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:29 am 

I am new to The Arc Flash Forum. I work for Grace Engineered Products and we just started a new digital publication dedicated to news regarding electrical safety in an industrial setting. I'm curious about something and I hope you all will be able to help me by sharing with me your thoughts. What's missing in trade publications today with regards to electrical safety? What would like to see reported? Do you want more product profiles? More technical articles? More focus on safety culture?

As a wife of an industrial maintenance worker, I have a deep passion to help change the culture in the industrial world regarding safety, and specifically electrical safety. Thanks in advance for your input.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: What's missing in electrical safety news?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:04 am 

Hi Brandy

One thought could be is that no one is talking about electrical shock hazard out there. It seems as an electrical and OHS community we have become saturated with arc flash. Arc flash PPE, training etc... It is workplace electrical safety or as NFPA 70E is titled "Electrical Safety in the Workplace". Which means we need to be aware of both shock as well as arc flash hazard. Here in Ontario Canada the real issue and statistically it is proven that electrical shock or electrocution is what is causing injury to the electrical worker or associated trades- HVAC etc.

A good article on shock and shock protection may be of consideration. In my travels across Canada it is almost insulting the number of workers and supervisors who are unaware of things like a rubber insulated blanket, properly applied provides an approved barrier or means of protection from electrical shock particularly in the millions of panels out there with lack of finger safe technology.

Just a thought

Thanks