It is currently Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:55 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Another thread about PPE for enclosed operations.
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:31 am 

I don't like to bring up topics that have been covered in detail in the past, I am just looking for some opinions about a question I have not seen brought up.

There has been a lot of discussion about what type of PPE should be worn for doing a general LO/TO and switching breaker with the enclosure shut. Should you use Class 3 if that is what the HRC calls for? My question is, in the NFPA 70E table 130.7(C)(9) they call for differant PPE for differant types of operations, (i.e. first table calls for "0" for switch operation with covers on and "1" when working on energized conductors) why wouldn't this mind set be used after using the Arc Flash Study for requiring PPE?

I am very new to the NFPA 70E requirements, actually waiting for my handbook to arrive, and looking for some opinions.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:55 pm 

Shane-
You have to read the FPN-when using the generic task tables.Once your Arc Flash Study is performed the tables are no longer applicable.
Pay particular attention to the size of feeder transformers,when using the tables.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:15 am 
Arc Level

Shane Rasset wrote:
I am very new to the NFPA 70E requirements, actually waiting for my handbook to arrive, and looking for some opinions.

Remember, NFPA 70E is a "What needs to be done" not a "How to do it" standard. It is purposely written with a lot of grey areas.

It is up to your company to address these grey areas in your Electrical Safe Work Practices program. For example: if your study calculation results in an incident energy of 9cal/cm┬▓, there is nothing in NFPA70E that would prevent you from using the PPE described in Hazard/Risk Category 2 of Table 130.7(C)(16) if it has an arc rating of 11cal/cm┬▓.

Post subject: