It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:14 pm

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: 40 cal suit
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:40 pm 

Great forum, I am new to 70e requirements and currently looking for a 40 cal flash suit. I have heard that Carhartt has a suit with a built in fan and a clear lens. Has anyone used it and if so where can I find it?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:07 am 

Carhartt has HRC 1-4 clothing available but I don't see a beehive hood with clear lens and fan:

http://www.carhartt.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10101&categoryId=15079

You can find arc flash gear through Graingers and most major electrical supply houses. There are also several retailers that operate on line.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:23 am 

Salisbury offers a 40 Cal Kit (Coat and Bib Overalls) in their "Premium Light Weight" material with an Air Cooling System with a hood and green lens. Not sure if you can get in with a clear lens. Their part number is SK40PLT-C.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:40 am 

A little research before your purchase will pay big dividends to the person using your new class 4 gear. The leaders in the industry are Salisbury, Oberon, National Safety Apparel and others with several import and domestic clones appearing in the market. If your point of use is within distribution substations or areas where your work focus is at or above your waist, then you can elect to use leggings with the 3/4 length coat. This option allows for the coolest and greatest freedom of movement. If your application is around metalclad switchgear or confining areas where an arc flash is most likely to occur at or below the waist, then you should look at the bib overalls with a 30" coat. The most confining and hottest garment is the one-piece overall.