It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:01 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Required PPE
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:32 pm 

Hello, I am looking for some advice with regards to PPE.

I am a ski lift electrician,
90% of my work is 24V DC controls.
I also work on AC and DC Drives and motors up to 1000HP. the motor work is 99% de-energised testing and cleaning several times a year.
I also work on the 120/220/480 parts of the lifts, including heaters, lights, outlets, main disconnects etc. sometimes these are hot.

I would like some help in determining what i should be wearing on a daily basis and what extra clothing/protection i need for the other parts of my job.

Thanks in advance for yor help.

Keith

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:46 pm 
Arc Level

If you haven't done an analysis then you should use the NFPA task ppe matrix. Being in the ski industry you could wear some heavier clothes and still be comfortable, like Level 2 shirt and pants. You can also find AF coats and winter gear.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:19 pm 
Arc Level

Remember that there are current and clearing time limitations on the tables, so you have to have some fault current information available from the utility. Then some determination could be made on the applicability of the tables.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:48 am 

Update....there was a survey conducted at our site and although i do not have a copy of the results, they are in the mail, the highest risk we have is 17cal/cm2.

1. Is class 2 clothing enough protection?

2, I have found a number of sites selling FR clothing but no one sells nomex snow pants? any ideas?

3, I have heard that you can wear "oversized shirts" that will cover your existing clothing, fleece/nylon vest etc, that will provide the correct protection....any thoughts?

Thanks again

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:12 am 
Plasma Level

English wrote: