It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:24 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: NFPA 70e firefighter
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:03 am 

I am a structural firefighter. Our gear is designed for NFPA 1971-2009 requirement. I can find sufficient documentation for electrical conductivity (ie boots are 1q4,000 V) but nothing on Arc Protection. Often we have to operate sizable switchgears to secure power and we often have such discussions. Our station gear meets HRC 2 but the question is about our turnouts, boots, and masks. Could anyone provide some direction to find some answers? Manufacturers have been no assistance.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:19 am 
Sparks Level

Good Question! Don't know if there is any testing for turnout gear and arc flash. Would expect based on the suits that I have seen and the idea that you go hunting for heat and we are trying to avoid it, your stuff is better than the PPE required for electrical work.

Hope it helps and thanks for what you do!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:36 am 
Plasma Level

fmpid wrote:
I am a structural firefighter. Our gear is designed for NFPA 1971-2009 requirement. I can find sufficient documentation for electrical conductivity (ie boots are 1q4,000 V) but nothing on Arc Protection. Often we have to operate sizable switchgears to secure power and we often have such discussions. Our station gear meets HRC 2 but the question is about our turnouts, boots, and masks. Could anyone provide some direction to find some answers? Manufacturers have been no assistance.

There are different testing and design criteria for flash fire rated clothing and arc rated PPE. Hugh will be able to help you with this. Also look at http://www.westexinc.com

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:33 am 
Sparks Level