It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:54 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Arc Gap Assumptions in 1584
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:40 am 

I am an engineer for a small Midwestern consulting firm that provides services to municipal, cooperative, and investor-owned utilities. We have been receiving numerous requests for arc flash studies from our clients and are determining how we want to approach these studies. I have been given the task of analyzing this approach.

I have numerous questions, but have one specific to IEEE 1584. I was wondering if anyone knew how IEEE chose the arc gaps shown in Table 4 of the standard?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:51 pm 
Plasma Level

The gaps are based on NEMA phase conductor spacing requirements. If the equipment in question has different spacing than the gaps in IEEE 1584, then those gaps should also be examined. In general the arc voltage is somewhat proportional to the arc gap length but the arc resistance that results is not linear although it does increase with length. This can have a big impact on the arcing current and incident energy.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:12 am 

Gear Considerations

Another item to watch is the rating of the Gear if you are using the standard ├óÔéČ┼ôgaps├óÔéČ for example we had a system 4.8Kv, that utilized 15Kv gear there is a difference of approx. 40mm in the gap from 4.8Kv to 15Kv gear so make sure even if your system voltage is 4.8Kv or whatever it may be the gap is defined by the voltage rating of the equipment.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:21 pm 

Typical Bus Gaps in 1584 less than C37.32 minimum Clearances