It is currently Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:07 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Software defaults for 1584-2018
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:36 am 

I am a software developer currently working on a software implementation of IEEE Std 1584-2018 and, I would very much appreciate clarifications or thoughts from Arc Flash experts in relation to the following items...

1. Table 8 in the standard gives typical bus gaps and enclosure sizes for each equipment class (i.e. switchgear, MCCs, panelboards and cable junction box). What default values should be used for bus gaps and enclosure size for an Open Air equipment class?

2. Table 8 in the standard gives two alternative enclosure sizes for low-voltage MCCs and panelboards and cable junction box equipment classes which relate to whether the depth of the enclosure is "deep" or "shallow". The depth value for a "deep" enclosure is given as "> 8 in". As the words "deep" and "typical" are used interchangeably elsewhere in the standard, would it be reasonable to default the enclosure depth to "deep"/"typical" rather than "shallow"? Also, what do people feel would be a sensible default for a depth greater than 8 inches? 9 inches? 10 inches? 20 inches?

3. Table 10 in the standard gives typical working distances for each equipment class (i.e. switchgear, MCC, panelboards and cable junction box). What default values should be used for working distance for an Open Air equipment class?

4. Is the cable junction box mentioned in Tables 8 & 10 of 1584-2018 equivalent to the cable equipment class given in 1584-2002?

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject: Re: Software defaults for 1584-2018
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:11 am 
Sparks Level

w5m wrote:
I am a software developer currently working on a software implementation of IEEE Std 1584-2018 and, I would very much appreciate clarifications or thoughts from Arc Flash experts in relation to the following items...