It is currently Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:25 am



Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Is Arc flash warning label required for temporary base?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:13 pm 
Sparks Level

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:10 am
Posts: 142
We have a big service on our generator system ( 8 Gen sets and each is 2.5MW). A portable generator has been deployed to replace each when it is under maintenance and it will take one month for one generator. My question is, do we have to provide a temp. warning label based on this kind of operation? Since the portable gen set is smaller than the servicing one, we have to adjust some relay setting in order to achieve max. coordination of downstream devices. And code or standards say a temp label is required?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:21 am 
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:00 pm
Posts: 822
Location: Rutland, VT
I don't know the Canadian standards but regardless, I think you should be asking what is the safest action to take to protect the employees? Looked at that way, I would think you would want to label the temp genset.

_________________
Barry Donovan, P.E.
www.workplacesafetysolutions.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:59 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:25 am
Posts: 36
Location: richmond, VA
I agree with wbd. The issue for me would be, does anyone need to work on the equipment during this temporary installation and if yes then it should be labeled. During an emergency, is not the time to wonder what the arc flash rating is. Also if the installation has stickers now and the temp situation is a different arc flash hazard, how will that be communicated.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:21 pm 
Plasma Level
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:08 am
Posts: 2174
Location: North Carolina
No, you don't HAVE to do this. You can simply use the tables in 70E to determine your arc flash levels and use that more conservative number. Of course you still have to figure out short circuit current, breaker trip times, etc., so effectively you might as well do the real thing. Updating a power system analysis takes about 15 minutes to gather data and 15 minutes to work with the software. I work in a surface mine. The mine moves at an advance rate of about an acre a day. Every 3-6 months, every substation gets disconnected, moved, and reconnected. So we continuously change the model.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
© 2019 Arcflash Forum / Brainfiller, Inc. | P.O. Box 12024 | Scottsdale, AZ 85267 USA | 800-874-8883