It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:43 am

ekstra   ara
 Post subject: Arc Flash Clothing - Use Over 40cal/cm
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:32 am 

I am an instructor for a utility and have to teach arc flash / electrical safety training. We have not performed an arc flash analysis at many of our facilities as of yet. I have been using the table methods to inform the plant personnel as to what level of clothing to wear and at what distances to set up their boundaries. A study was recently completed at one of our facilities and several of the low voltage switchgears (<600V) ended up with 85cal/cm ratings. The company that performed the analysis also provided the labels for each of our switchgears and MCC's. The labels on several of the swtichgears indicate Required PPE: Dangerous as well as No FR Category Found. I have noticed that their are 100cal/cm suits in the FR catalogs that I have looked through. Is it unacceptable to work on this equipment (e.g. racking breakers in or out) unless it is deenergized? Can a 100cal/cm suit be utilized or is it unacceptable to work on this equipment at all unless it is deenegized. All electrical equipment is considered energized, until proven otherwise. How do I test it, while performing the task of testing would put me in harm's way. The flash hazard boundary for this same piece of apparatus is 242 inches. I don't have a long enough pole to reach it for testing since I have to have on proper PPE to be within the boundary. Does anyone know what to do in this case?

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:45 am 
Plasma Level

smokegetsnureyes wrote: